T20 Cricket World
United We Play, United We Win

WTC: BCCI announced 20 men Squad for WTC against New Zealand

0 117

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 20-member strong team (+ four standby) of Team India for the upcoming ICC World Test Championship final against New Zealand and a five-match Test series in England.

The BCCI has announced Team India for the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) and the Test series against England. Star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is back in the 19-member squad. At the same time, Hardik Pandya failed to make a place in the team.

- Advertisement -

Team India, led by Virat Kohli, finished first in the points table in the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship and won 3–1 at home against England.

The world’s No.1 ranked Test team, India will play with the Horns at the summit in Southampton between 18-22 June, with England in the series of comebacks starting at Trent Bridge from 04 August.

The squad of India has a well-known name as Rohit Sharma, the first choice with Shubman Gill and the back-up of Mayank Agarwal. KL Rahul’s participation is subject to fitness clearance.

- Advertisement -

The middle order includes Cheteshwar Pujara, captain Virat Kohli, vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane and Hanuma Vihari, who were ruled out of the home series against England due to a hamstring injury.

Related Posts
1 of 18

Rishabh Pant is the first choice defender while Saha’s fitness like Rahul is subject to inclusion.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja lead the spin bowling department followed by Axar Patel and Washington Sundar while Kuldeep Yadav is excluded.

- Advertisement -

In the fast bowling department, Mohammed Shami returns after a long gap due to injury. Ishant Sharma, Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur and Umesh Yadav fielded Pesar.

“Hardik Pandya is still not in a position to bowl. The experiment of selectors to keep him during England Tests and prepare him with bowling workload has failed miserably. He will henceforth not be considered for Test cricket,”

a BCCI source told PTI.

Team India has named the four standby players Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna and Arjan Nagwaswala and Avesh Khan.

Team India’s team for ICC World Test Championship and England Test Series:

- Advertisement -

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R.K. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jaspreet Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mo. Shami, MD Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (under fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper, under fitness clearance).

- Advertisement -

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x