T20 Cricket World
United We Play, United We Win

New format from IPL 2021, 10 teams likely be their in IPL 2021.

0 22

10 teams will be divided into two groups – New format of IPL from 2021 season

The Board of management for Cricket in Republic of India (BCCI) is ready to approve the addition of 2 new groups within the future Indian Premier League (IPL) season. The approval can reportedly lean within the Annual General Meeting of the board scheduled to require place on December twenty four. This isn’t the primary time that the IPL can have ten groups fighting for the glory.

- Advertisement -

In 2011, ten groups had featured within the season whereas within the next 2 editions of the T20 amusement, 9 groups had taken half. And currently with the BCCI probably to approve 2 new groups, the IPL 2021 is additionally set to own ten groups. Earlier, it absolutely was rumored that only 1 team are going to be side earlier than ensuing season whereas the tenth franchise are going to be side the subsequent season.

However, the franchises were reportedly not pleased with this as 2 mega auctions would’ve taken place in this case. Meanwhile, the addition of 2 new groups can currently bring a spate of changes to ensuing IPL season.

Related Posts
1 of 17

What will be the format for IPL 2021?
Currently, the eight taking part groups face one another double during a round-robin format creating it fourteen matches within the league stage before the highest four groups creating it to the playoffs. However, this variety can reach to eighteen when 2 groups area unit side which could result in a prolonged IPL season and a great deal of matches.

- Advertisement -

Also Read: Ranking prime eight franchises consistent with cash they need spent in IPL history.

But consistent with Times of Republic of India, there’ll be a amendment within the format in IPL 2021 and therefore the organisers area unit musing to revert to the one used back in 2011. As per the format in 2011, ten groups are going to be divided into 2 teams of 5 with all the edges taking part in fourteen matches solely within the league stages – facing the opposite four groups in their cluster double (home game and away game), facing four groups in different cluster once and so the remaining team double.

A random draw was wont to verify teams and choose that team plays against the opposite once or double. The format appeared sophisticated however it saved a great deal of your time for the BCCI then.

- Advertisement -


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More